Skip to main content

PFL Starts a New Professional Football Revolution in the Philippines

Chairman Abraham Kahlil B. Mitra signed the certificates for the first ever Philippine Football League last May 2, at the Games and Amusement Board office.

Football is now one of the sports which will be playing with a professional license alongside basketball, golf, horse racing, tennis, cockfight, dance sports, cycling, billiard, volleyball, boxing, mixed martial arts, table tennis and bowling are the current roster of sports regulated by Games and Amusement Board.

In a press conference held last May 2 at the Games and Amusement Board office, Chairman Mitra and GAB Commissioners sat down to talk about GAB's plans for football and many more opportunities that the sport will have because of this expansion. After talking about it's plans, Mitra signed the certificates for the teams under PFL who will be recipients of this development.

Present at the occasion is PFF President Mariano Araneta and some football players who received their professional licenses during the event.

The Philippine Football League or PFL will be the first ever professional National football league in the country, supplanting the United Football League, which was previously the de facto tier league.

The PFL will follow a home-and-away, double round-robin format. The top four teams will advance to the play-off round dubbed as the "Finals Series" to determine the champions of the league.

The PFL will only have one division to start with however the plan is to expand and have a second division. The UFL will serve as the second tier competition or youth league to the PFL.

The Philippine Football Federation has an agreement with the People's Television Network to broadcast matches of the league which started April 2017.

The teams that are currently under the Philippine Football League are Ceres-Negros Football Club, Global Cebu Football Club, Ilocos United Football Club, JP Voltes Marikina Football Club, Kaya Football Club-Makati, Davao Aguilas Football Club, Meralco Manila Football Club and Stallion Laguna Football Club.

Forming a professional football league has been long overdue as football players deserve a bigger stage to showcase their skills. Football communities and fans are certainly elated with this development as this could be a start of a new revolution in Philippine Football.

Photos of the event:

Popular posts from this blog

DIRECTORY: Basketball Courts For Rent in Manila

Village Sports Club -
Address: El Grande Avenue corner Tropical Avenue, Topman Village
Las Piñas
Metro Manila
Philippines Time: Tuesdays to Sundays 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM Phone: 822-1000 Local: 232 / 233 Mobile: 0917-801-2094 or 0998-586-9321 Type: Maple wood flooring (supplied by Robbins Sports Surfaces), Covered Rate: Php 2,000 per hour Local: 822-1000 local 232/233

Rancho 3 Basketball Court Address: 3 Rancho
Metro Manila
Philippines Type: Cement Rate: Php 200 per hour

10 Hottest PBA Courtside Reporters

It's a good thing that these ladies weren't ranked in this video. Not only will it be too difficult, it will also be too unjust.

As the games in the PBA start heating up and the country is getting all the more hotter, these PBA courtside reporters isn't at all helping and is keeping the PBA smoldering hot. PBA and TV5 has done a great job in aqcuiring these intelligent and attractive courtside reporters.

Vice Ganda was Video Recording Calvin Abueva During the Game, What’s up with them?

Si Calvin Abueva ba ang bagong boyfriend ni Vice Ganda? via YouTube CrunchTime PH MoreThe post Vice Ganda was Video Recording Calvin Abueva During the Game, What's up with them? appeared first on Powcast Sports.


Directory: Different Sports Stores in the Philippines

It is indeed obvious that the Philippines is considered as one of the House of Sports around the world. 
Here's the list of different sports store located in the Pearl of Orient (Philippines): 
Nike Philippines Incorporated
Nike is the most valued brand among sport industries; it caters anything you think of about sports mostly apparels, equipment, accessories and services. Over the years, Nike manufactured basketball shoes, running shoes, as well as every day sneakers. Nike also becomes one of the world’s major providers of athletic shoes and apparel as well as equipment. Tag Line: Just Do It Address: 6784 Ayala Avenue, Ayala 1226 Contact Number: (02) 848 9851

NIKE - GREENBELT 5 +63 (02) 7299764 10AM-9PM 2F Greenbelt 5 Greenbelt Dr, Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
NIKE - GREENHILLS +63 (02) 7240838 10AM-9PM GF Connecticut Carpark, Greenhills Shopping Center Ortigas Avenue, North WesteRU Street, San Juan, Metro Manila, Philippines Mandaluyong Cit…

Terrence Romeo Helps TNT in Comeback Win Versus NorthPort

TNT Katropa overcame a 23 point lead by NorthPort to come from behind and get a 104-102 win in thrilling fashion. The Batang Pier relied on their strong opening punch to grab an early advantage in the first quarter. They were extra aggressive on defense which complemented their hot shooting. TNT Katropa had no answer […] MoreThe post Terrence Romeo Helps TNT in Comeback Win Versus NorthPort appeared first on Powcast Sports.