Cambodia completes the 2016 AFF Suzuki Cup field

Cambodian players celebrates a goal
Photo Courtesy of AFF

Cambodia became the final competitor for the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup which will be co-hosted by Philippines and Myanmar. The competition will run from November 19 to December 17 2016. 7 teams already qualified for the tournament with 1 spot left that will be contested by Brunei, Cambodia, Laos and Timor Leste. The final fixtures saw three teams still in the hunt for the final spot. 

The two matches were tight as expected with Laos beating Brunei 4-3 while Cambodia beating Timor Leste 3-2. The win by Cambodia nullifies the result from the Laos and Brunei match because only a defeat from Cambodia can result of them not being qualified from the final tournament. Cambodia's qualification means that this will be their first appearance in the AFF Suzuki Cup since the 2008 edition of the competition.

The groupings of the 2016 AFF Suzuki Cup are as follows: 
Group A

Group B