F 16th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards "Banquet of Champions" - Powcast Sports

16th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards "Banquet of Champions"

The Elorde Boxing Awards is an annual event and held annually by the clan of the  Elorde. The traditional Elorde Boxing Awards Night-Banquet of Champions will be given citations and special awards to boxing personalities who have contributed to the development of professional boxing in the Philippines.

This year, 16th Gabriel "Flash" Elorde  Boxing Awards "Banquet of Champions". The most prestigious yearly boxing awards in the country will be  held at the Sofitel Hotel in Pasay City on March 29th,five days before the birth anniversary of  Da Flash.The program is presented by Jhonny Elorde International Promotion in cooperation with PCSO,PAGCOR, Cobra energy drink, Hapee toothpast .,etc The program will start with boxing bouts featuring two grandsons of  legendary Flash Elorde. They are Juan Martin and Juan Miguel Elorde who will both take on Indonesian foe. Juan Martin "Bai" (19-1-1,8) will battle against Musa Letding (10-4-4,6) for the vacant WBO Oriental Jr. lightweight title while the younger brother"The Boss" Juan Miguel Elorde (20-1,11) will defend his WBO Asia Pacific Super Bantamweight title against Waldo Sabu (7-3,2).WBC #1 ranked and OPBF (Oriental Pacific Boxing Federation) light flyweight champion Jonathan Taconing (22-2-1,18KOs) will take on highly experience Indonesian Heri Amol (37-28-5,15) in a 10 round non-title bout and Newly crowned WBC International flyweight Champion Giemel Magramo (15-0,12) will take on John Bajawa (11-12,7) also from Indonesia.

The main highlight of the ceremony is the "Casting of the Fist" which will honor  seven of the greatest Filipino boxers of all time. They  are longest Filipino Boxing World champion and the reigning WBO and The Ring Magazine light flyweight titlist Donnie "Ahas" Nietes, 5 Division World champion, WBO World Jr. bantamweight champion Nonito "The Flash" Donaire, retired 2 division World champion Gerry Penalosa, retired former WBC World Super featherweight champion Rolando Navarette, retired former WBC Super featherweight champion Rene Barrientos, retired former WBC flyweight champion Erbito Salavarria and retired ex WBF minimumweight titlist Ronnie Magramo.

The Benguet of Champions will also honor IBO light flyweight champion Rey Loreto and Randy Petalcorin WBA "interim" light flyweight titlist as boxer of the year awardees.The Benguet of champions will also give award to best referee, fight of the year and prospect of the year award.

by: Ian Melodillar



Post a Comment