Loading...

Get your brand in front of Sports Community Inquire Now!

Recommended

WBA Asia Orders Rematch After Timekeeper Erred in Enriquez-Kaensa Fight


The WBA Asia Boxing Association admitted the timekeeper erred in the Michael Enriquez-Yutthana Kaensa match last June 29 in Bangkok, Thailand.

Responding to the request of Jim Claude “JC” Manangquil, chief executive officer of the General Santos-City based Sanman Promotions, the WBA ordered the Thailand Boxing Commission (TBC) to review the fight after the seventh round was seemingly shorter than the usual three-minute round.

After review, the TBC found that the seventh round indeed didn't last for three minutes.

Kaensa went on to win the fight via unanimous decision, 116-112, 115-112, and 115-112. The win netted Kaensa the WBA Asia flyweight  title.It was in the seventh round that the Sanman Boxing Gym fighter Enriquez floored Kaensa with a left hook. Enriquez went for the kill but failed to do so as the round ended prematurely.

“Through their investigation, TBC confirmed the timekeeper's ending bell was before the completion of three minutes in seventh round. So, they took disciplinary action to the timekeeper about the issue,” said WBA's Won Kim in his letter to Manangquil.

With the outcome of the investigation, a rematch may be forthcoming.

"The timekeeper's action on the above fight violated our general rules and regulations. Hence, we, WBA Asia, decided to give a rematch order between Yutthana Kaenza and Michael Enriquez within 180 days,” said Won.

“We will try to negotiate with Galaxy Promotions to bring the fight here,” said Manangquil.

Manangquil thanked Games and Amusment Board Chairman Abraham Mitra for the recent development.

“He flew to Thailand for the review of the fight. I thank him because he exerted efforts to address the issue,” said Manangquil.


No comments