2016 PBA Offseason Grades: Barangay Ginebra San Miguel

It was just a month ago after the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel won their first championship in eight years and the PBA already opened it's 42nd season. Let us examine how each team did in the offseason.


Players in: Paolo Taha

Players out: Denice Villamor, Franklin Bonifacio, Nico Salva

Drafted players: Kevin Ferrer, Jammer Jamito, Jericho De Guzman


Coach Tim Cone believes in team chemistry. He doesn't want to destroy the core that win the Ginebra's first championship in eight years. Ginebra only traded bench warmers Franklin Bonifacio and Denice Villamor for a rising player Paolo Taha and also  traded Nico Salva for a future draft pick.

Taha is definitely an upgrade of Nico Salva. With his scoring and defense, he proved that he belongs to the PBA with his stint in GlobalPort and Mahindra in his first two years in the league.

He had his best performance in the league so far with his lone conference with Mahindra, averaging 11 points on 48.5% shooting, 3.2 rebounds and 1.4 assists in just 23.9 minutes of action per game.

Ginebra also added a shooter in Kevin Ferrer after picking the gilas 5 member in the special draft of this years PBA draft. Ferrer had a successful collegiate career with the UST Growling Tigers. He made 6 three pointers and scored 24 points in the 3rd quarter of Game 2 of UAAP Finals last season that forced the series into do-or-die game only to lose to FEU Tamaraws in Game 3.

Ginebra also got another banger inside the paint in Jammer Jamito. A surprised 3rd pick in the draft. The basketball analysts are comparing Jamito to a young Gabby Espinas and Vic Manuel. They've also added 6'11 big man Jericho De Guzman as contingency for injured Greg Slaughter.

Slaughter is expected to be back in the third conference or as early as the playoffs of Commissioners cup.


Point Guards
Jayjay Helterbrand
Scottie Thompson
L.A. Tenorio

Shooting Guards
Mark Caguioa
Sol Mercado
Paolo Taha

Small Forwards
Chris Ellis
Aljon Mariano
Kevin Ferrer

Power Forwards
Japeth Aguilar
Jervy Cruz
Joe Devance

Jammer Jamito
Dave Marcelo
Jericho De Guzman

Greg Slaughter

Head coach: Tim Cone


Follow the writer on twitter @mykelblanco