Skip to main content

GAB 3rd Philippine Boxing Convention " Breaking Tradition for the Better"

GAB to award outstanding boxers other stakeholders in Davao confab

13 bouts set on May 12

“Breaking tradition for the better, the Games and Amusements board (GAB) shall recognize outstanding achievements in all aspects of boxing. Promoters, matchmakers, managers, trainers and referees shall receive awards alongside our champion boxers,” said Abraham Kahlil B. Mitra, chairman of the GAB. The GAB shall host the Third Philippine Boxing Convention in Davao City from May 11 to 13 (Thursday to Saturday).

“We designed this convention to be as comprehensive and inclusive as possible. Expected to attend are boxing stakeholders from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. We shall hold thirteen (13) bouts on May 12th, the second day of the convention,” said Commissioner Fritz Gaston. The bouts shall be held at the Waterfront Insular Hotel and seminars and meetings at the Marco Polo Hotel.

This three-day event will comprise of different seminars to be conducted by GAB’s Medical Officers, Dr. Radentor R. Viernes and Dr. Jose Rolando S. Rivera, GAB Legal Division Chief Atty. Ermar U. Benitez, WBC Ring Officials Chairman Hubert P. Minn, and International Referee Tony Weeks.

“This convention will once again bring together our friends and stakeholders in the field of professional boxing from all over the Philippines, who we consider our partners in developing and uplifting the interest of the sport of professional boxing in the Philippines.The great interest and big number of attendees prove boxing has more glory days ahead. And, in the journey to those glory days, the GAB will be its close ally," Mitra explained.

Slated to fight are professional boxers Jake Bornea and Renerio Arizala for WBF Intercontinental Super Flyweight Championship, Ryan Lumacad and Renold Pael for ABF Super Flyweight Championship, and Roskie Cristobal and Alvin Makiling for PBF Bantamweight Championship, among others.

“The GAB has drawn a list of awardees from nominations by all stakeholders nationwide. The list underwent intensive vetting process. Kinilatis po sila ng kanilang mga kasamahan at mga naging kakompetensiya nila,” said Chairman Mitra.

Among the awardees are: former world champion Marlon “Nightmare” Tapales; former IBF world flyweight champion Johnriel Casimero, IBF world light flyweight king Jerwin Ancajas and WIBA world minimumweight world champion Gretchen Abaniel as "Boxers of the Year".


Mr. Juan Ramon Guanzon
OPBF President

Hubert Minn (Hawaii)
Chairman, WBC Ring Officials/Resource Speaker

Tony Weeks (Las Vegas)
International Referee/ Resource Speaker

Naris Singwangcha (Thailand)
Boxing Philanthropist

Ryuta Kato
Pres., United Int'l. Boxing Promotions

Lope, Sarreal
Pres., Phil. Boxing Federation

Dante Alamario
Pres., Managers-Promoters' Assoc.

Mrs. Ma. Laura Elorde
Matriarch of Phil. Boxing

Professional Boxing Officials of Cebu

Ass'n. Of Phil. Professional Boxing Ring Officials (APPBRO)


Michael Aldeguer
International Boxing  Promoter of the Year

Gabriel Elorde, Jr.-Juan Lope Elorde
Dexter Tan-Arnold Palafox
Boxing Promoter of the Year

Brico Santig-Jim Claude Manangquil
Most Accomplished Boxing Manager of the Year

Angel Dela Merced
Most Promising Boxing Promoter

Artemio Monis
Boxing Matchmaker of the Year

Jhun Agrabio
Fernando Ocon
Boxing Trainer of the Year


Hon. Sen. Emmanuel Pacquiao
WBO World Welterweight Champion
Eight-Division World Boxing Champion

Donnie "Ahas" Nietes
IBF World Flyweight Champion
Longest Reigning Boxing World Champion in the Phils.


Bruce Mctavish
Professional Boxing Referee

Popular posts from this blog

DIRECTORY: Basketball Courts For Rent in Manila

Village Sports Club -
Address: El Grande Avenue corner Tropical Avenue, Topman Village
Las Piñas
Metro Manila
Philippines Time: Tuesdays to Sundays 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM Phone: 822-1000 Local: 232 / 233 Mobile: 0917-801-2094 or 0998-586-9321 Type: Maple wood flooring (supplied by Robbins Sports Surfaces), Covered Rate: Php 2,000 per hour Local: 822-1000 local 232/233

Rancho 3 Basketball Court Address: 3 Rancho
Metro Manila
Philippines Type: Cement Rate: Php 200 per hour

Servicing Tips Every Car Owner Should Know To Make Life Easier

Having the freedom to be able to roam freely in our cars is a privilege that many of us in this world have, and more often than not, when that privilege is taken from us we can feel lost. This usually happens when our cars break down or need to be serviced. To prevent this feeling from being a regular occurrence, there are some steps that you could be taking to make sure that you can rest assured that your car isn’t going to need to go in for repairs anytime soon. Here are some servicing tips every car owner should know to make life easier.

Do your car checks regularly You’ve probably already heard about the checks that you should be making on your car. Checking the oil and water level, and making sure that your tires are pumped up enough can make a massive difference to how your car performs. Not only that, if any of these things are rejected to be taken care of, it can lead to bigger problems with your car that will cos…

10 Hottest PBA Courtside Reporters

It's a good thing that these ladies weren't ranked in this video. Not only will it be too difficult, it will also be too unjust.

As the games in the PBA start heating up and the country is getting all the more hotter, these PBA courtside reporters isn't at all helping and is keeping the PBA smoldering hot. PBA and TV5 has done a great job in aqcuiring these intelligent and attractive courtside reporters.

Breaking News : UGB MMA expands into Pakistan

UGB MMA is once again making headlines after being the first promotion to be a part of WSOF Global's affiliate programme.
UGB MMA Championship is now expanding its wings into South Asia and has spread it's wings into a branch called UGB MMA Pakistan which is also part of WSOF Global's affiliate programme, which will be led by CEO Ali Sultan and Director Majid Gilani . UGB MMA Pakistan CEO Ali Sultan says, ' It is something we have been working on for the longest time to be able to create a promotion in Pakistan which is going to involve fighters from Iran, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and potentially even India. It is a pleasure to be leading this venture and I'm certain it will help us find the best talent in the country and region. All this would not be possible without the backing of Mr Munsayac and his team'. This could be one of the first major international promotions showing interest in the region.
'With the backing of WSOF Global especially Mr Hesser, Mr Z…