Skip to main content

Ateneo Rowing Team Competes in Varsity Boat Race 2017 In Malaysia As Sole Philippine Representative

Ateneo Rowing Team is Ready!

Varsity Boat Race (VBR) is annual men and women rowing and kayaking flatwater race of local and international invitational Universities. This year’s VBR 2017 will run from October 3-8 in the Bukit Merah Lake, Perak, Malaysia. The competition expects at least 14 local teams and 15 teams from various universities across Asia.

Majlis Sukan Politeknik
Majlis Sukan Kolej Komuniti
Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
Universiti Malaya
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
Universiti Malaysia Terengganu
Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris
Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin
Universiti Sains Malaysia
Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Universiti Teknologi MARA
Universiti Tenaga Nasional
Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia

Ateneo de Manila
Chulalongkorn University
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Chiang Mai University of Thailand
Nanyang Technology University of Singapore
National University of Singapore
PKS - Malaysia
Suranaree University
Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia
University of Colombo
University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
University of Singaperbangsa Karawang
Waikato University of New Zealand
Yangon University of Economics

(list based on VBR 2016)

While Kayak features Men and Women Singles & Doubles in 500m and 1,000m, rowing will have the following eight (8) events:

M1X (Men Single Sculls) - 2000m
M2X (Men Double Sculls) - 2000m
LM4- (Lightweight Men Four) - 2000m
M8+ (Men Eight) - 2000m
W1X (Women Single Sculls) - 2000m
W2X (Women Double Sculls) - 2000m
LW4- (Lightweight Women Four) - 2000m
W8+ (Women Eight) - 2000m

The Ateneo de Manila University Rowing Team (ART) is the only representative to the VBR in the recent years. In fact, ART is the only remaining university-based Rowing team in the country. The Ateneo has also recently participated in the ASEAN Boat Race, Paoay International Regatta, and SEARF Rowing Competition.

This year’s roster is composed of the following athletes:

JASMIN, Nicanor (Head Coach)
AYCARDO, Jose Rafael L.
MATA, Diane Ross A. 
UMALI, Kim Justin Marty D. 
BALMES, Jay Mark M.
NEPOMUCENO, Eriven Larry H.
GO, Giulia Hannele L.
CHUA, Danielle Joyce Lynn N.
LAZARO, Joseph Cornelius R.
LO, Naomi Andrea C.
MIRANDA III, Benjamin John A. 
TENGCO, Shania Rejeana R.
KONG, Kezia Catherine U. 
ROQUE, Francesca Beatrice U.
REDOR, Miguel Luis S.
SIBAL, Alexandra Coleen F.
REGANIT, Gabriel Lucas M.
TIONGSON, Juan Rafael R.
MANALO, Gerald Neil S.
YAO, Jishell P.

For more updates, please follow the team’s Facebook at or Twitter at

This year’s run would not be possible without Powcast.NET, Comfort Sole Phils - Frappe La Rue, Cerana Farms, When In Manila, and Cyleina Organic.

Popular posts from this blog

DIRECTORY: Basketball Courts For Rent in Manila

Village Sports Club -
Address: El Grande Avenue corner Tropical Avenue, Topman Village
Las Piñas
Metro Manila
Philippines Time: Tuesdays to Sundays 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM Phone: 822-1000 Local: 232 / 233 Mobile: 0917-801-2094 or 0998-586-9321 Type: Maple wood flooring (supplied by Robbins Sports Surfaces), Covered Rate: Php 2,000 per hour Local: 822-1000 local 232/233

Rancho 3 Basketball Court Address: 3 Rancho
Metro Manila
Philippines Type: Cement Rate: Php 200 per hour

Servicing Tips Every Car Owner Should Know To Make Life Easier

Having the freedom to be able to roam freely in our cars is a privilege that many of us in this world have, and more often than not, when that privilege is taken from us we can feel lost. This usually happens when our cars break down or need to be serviced. To prevent this feeling from being a regular occurrence, there are some steps that you could be taking to make sure that you can rest assured that your car isn’t going to need to go in for repairs anytime soon. Here are some servicing tips every car owner should know to make life easier.

Do your car checks regularly You’ve probably already heard about the checks that you should be making on your car. Checking the oil and water level, and making sure that your tires are pumped up enough can make a massive difference to how your car performs. Not only that, if any of these things are rejected to be taken care of, it can lead to bigger problems with your car that will cos…

10 Hottest PBA Courtside Reporters

It's a good thing that these ladies weren't ranked in this video. Not only will it be too difficult, it will also be too unjust.

As the games in the PBA start heating up and the country is getting all the more hotter, these PBA courtside reporters isn't at all helping and is keeping the PBA smoldering hot. PBA and TV5 has done a great job in aqcuiring these intelligent and attractive courtside reporters.